qldwater Awards

qldwater Awards

qldwater Young Operator of the Year and Operator of the Year – Civil/All-Rounder 

The qldwater / WIOA Operator Award winners were announced at the Annual Queensland Water Industry Operations Conference Awards Dinner held in Bundaberg on Thursday 6 June 2019.

This was the tenth time we’ve been privileged to present awards for the Civil/ Allrounder Operator of the Year and Young Operator of the Year.

Congratulations to Spencer Stacy from City of Gold Coast (pictured left)who took out the Civil/ Allrounder award. A great team player, respected by colleagues and customers alike, Spencer is one half of the recently retired “Tapping Tubbies” mains tapping champions.  Spencer received a trophy and $1,500 to put towards professional development.

Ali Sacipovic from Fraser Coast Regional Council (pictured right) took the Young Operator award.  Responsible for the Aubinville STP in Maryborough, Ali has demonstrated great initiative, a commitment to process improvement, teamwork and customer service.  Ali receives a trip to NZ in 2020 with WIOA visiting a number of utilities and attending the WIOG conference.


A highly commended award was made to Daniel Hales from Mareeba Shire Council, who will receive a QWRAP scholarship to attend the upcoming qldwater event in Townsville as well as spend time with experts at the Mt St John STP, with thanks to Jeff Morton and Stephen Martin for organising.

Other main awards from the event going to employees of qldwater members went to:

o Overall (Brian Davis Award) – Kale McLean, Unitywater
o 1st – Andrew Watson, South Burnett Regional Council
o 2nd – Marcus Boyd, Terry Henness, Toowoomba Regional Council

qldwater TRG Industry Contribution Awards 

New in 2019, up to two awards will be presented at the 2019 qldwater Annual Forum to recognise outstanding contributions to the Queensland Urban Water and Sewerage industry.  Typically recipients will have gone above and beyond the requirements of their day job to champion an important issue impacting the sector, or support qldwater activities.

There is no specific nomination process for these awards, which will be nominated and selected by our Technical Reference Group.

Other Industry Awards

A number of other organisations offer awards that celebrate the achievements of the Queensland urban water industry and qldwater encourages members to submit nominations. qldwater is happy to provide assistance with your nomination(s), please contact Dave Cameron on [email protected] or 3632 6850.

Australian Water Association Awards

The AWA offers awards at both state and national levels that recognise outstanding achievements in a range of industry and individual categories. Awards are open to AWA members only. 

Details and conditions of entry for the 2019 Queensland Water Awards Queensland 2019 is available online at: http://www.awa.asn.au/AWA_MBRR/About_AWA/Awards/State_Awards/QLD.aspx. Nominations open in June 2019 and close on 19 July 2019 with winners to be announced at the Queensland Water Awards Gala Dinner on 13 September 2019. State winners go on to compete in the National Awards which are announced each year at the Ozwater Gala Dinner.

Award Categories include:

Individual Awards
  • Water Professional of the Year
  • Young Water Professional of the Year Award
  • Student Water Prize
  • Regional Service Award (State based award only & nominated by the QLD Committee)
  • Distinguished Service Award (State based award only & nominated by the QLD Committee)
  • QLD Operator of the Year for 2018 will be announced at the WIOA Conference in June

Organisational Awards
  • Infrastructure Project Innovation Award
  • Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (Servicing under 250,000 end users)
  • Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (Servicing over 250,000 end users)
  • Program Innovation Award
  • Program Innovation Award (Servicing under 250,000 end users)
  • Program Innovation Award (Servicing over 250,000 end users)
  • Research Innovation Award

For more information visit the AWA website

IPWEAQ Excellence Awards

The Institute of Public Works Engineering Australasia Queensland (IPWEAQ) annual awards program places a spotlight on the projects and people who deliver exceptional outcomes for Queensland communities.

Nominations open in February and close on 5 July 2019. Nominations should be made online via: https://www.ipweaq.com/awards. Winners will be announced at the Gala Awards Ceremony and Dinner to be held at the Royal International Convention Centre, Brisbane on 23 October 2019. 

Award Categories include:

Project Awards
  • Innovation
  • Projects under $1 million
  • Projects under $2 million
  • Projects $2 million to $5 million
  • Projects $5 million to $10 million
  • Projects over $10 million
  • Asset Management
  • Environment and Sustainability 
  • Innovation & Sustainability in Water - projects under $5 million
  • Innovation & Sustainability in Water - projects over $5 million
People Awards
  • Engineer of the Year
  • Woman in Engineering
  • Young Engineer of the Year
  • Team Member of the Year (non-engineers and includes Supervisors, Works Officers and other support staff)
  • President’s Award – chosen by President
  • Futures Challenge – chosen by delegates

For more information visit the IPWEAQ website

Subscribe to: Newsletter